The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honouring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation founding patrons Daimler and Richemont.

A) The following are the nominees for the 2022 laureus world sportsman of the year award

1) Tom Brady (Rugby)

2) Robert lewandoski (football)

3) Novak djokovic (tennis)

4) Caleb dressel (swimming)

5) Eliud kipchoge (athletics)

6) Max verstappen (motor racing)

B) 2022 laureus world sportswoman of the year award nominees

1) Allyson Felix (athletics)

2) Alexia Putellas (football)

3) Ashleigh barty (tennis)

4) Emma McKeon (swimming)

5) Elaine Thompson-herah (athletics)

6) Katie ledecky ( swimming)

C) Team of the Year:

1) Argentina Men’s Football Team

2) Barcelona Women’s Football Team

3) Italy Men’s Football Team

4) Milwaukee Bucks Basketball Team

D) Breakthrough of the Year:

1) Neeraj Chopra (India) Athletics

2) Daniil Medvedev (Russia) Tennis

3) Pedri (Spain) Football

4) Emma Raducanu (UK) Tennis

5) Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela) Athletics

6) Ariarne Titmus (Australia) Swimming

E) Comeback of the Year:

1) Simone Biles (USA) Gymnastics

2) Sky Brown (UK) Skateboarding

3) Mark Cavendish (UK) Cycling

4) Tom Daley (UK) Diving

5) Marc Marquez (Spain) Motor Cycling

6) Annemiek van Vleuten (Netherlands)

F) Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability:

1) Diede de Groot (Netherlands) Wheelchair Tennis

2) Marcel Hug (Switzerland) Wheelchair Athletics

3) Shingo Kunieda (Japan) Wheelchair Tennis

4) Jetze Plat (Netherlands) Para Cycling / Para Triathlon

5) Susana Rodríguez (Spain) Para Triathlon

6) Sarah Storey (UK) Para Cycling

G) World Action Sportsperson of the Year:

1) Ítalo Ferreira (Brazil) Surfing

2) Alberto Gines (Spain) Climbing

3) Yuto Horigome (Japan) Skateboarding

4) Carissa Moore (USA) Surfing

5) Momiji Nishiya (Japan) Skateboarding

6) Bethany Shriever (UK) BMX

H) Sport for Good Award:

1) Ich will da rauf! (Germany) Climbing

2) Juca Pe Cagna (Italy) Multi-sport

4) Kick 4 Life (Lesotho) Football

5) Lost Boyz Inc. (USA) Baseball

6) Monkey Magic (Japan) Climbing

Notable facts about the award.

Roger Federer holds the record for the most awards with five. The 2021 award was won by Spanish tennis player Rafael Nadal.

In the 2020 ceremony, Argentine Lionel Messi became the first footballer to win the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award.

In a moment of sporting history, the greatest Formula One driver of his generation Lewis Hamilton and Lionel Messi, the world’s greatest footballer, were declared joint winners of the prestigious Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award, in front of a glittering international audience in Berlin.(2020)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.